DoD Approved 8570 Baseline Certifications

As an extension of Appendix 3 to the DoD 8570.01-Manual, the following certifications have been approved as IA baseline certifications for the IA Workforce. Personnel performing IA functions must obtain one of the certifications required for their position category or specialty and level. Refer to Appendix 3 of 8570.01-M for further implementation guidance.

The above table provides a list of DoD approved IA baseline certifications aligned to each category and level of the IA Workforce. Personnel performing IA functions must obtain one of the certifications required for their position, category/specialty and level to fulfill the IA baseline certification requirement. Most IA levels within a category or specialty have more than one approved certification and a certification may apply to more than one level.

An individual needs to obtain only one of the “approved certifications”; for his or her IA category or specialty and level to meet the minimum requirement. For example, an individual in an IAT Level II position could obtain any one of the four certifications listed in the IAT Level II cell.

Higher level IAT and IAM certifications satisfy lower level requirements. Certifications listed in Level II or III cells can be used to qualify for Level I. However, Level I certifications cannot be used for Level II or III unless the certification is also listed in the Level II or III cell. For example:
The A+ or Network+ certification qualify only for Technical Level I and cannot be used for Technical Level II positions.

The System Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) certification qualifies for both Technical Level I and Technical Level II. If the individual holding this certification moved from an IAT Level I to an IAT Level II position, he or she would not have to take a new certification.

Higher level CND-SP and IASAE certifications do not satisfy lower level requirements

The table below lists the Certification Providers associated with each approved certification.

Certification Provider Certification Name
Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute CERT® * Computer Security Incident Handler (CSIH)
Cisco * Cisco Certified Network Associate-Security (CCNA-Security)
Cisco * Cybersecurity Specialty Certification (SCYBER)
Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) * A+ Continuing Education (CE)
CompTIA * Security+ Continuing Education (CE)
CompTIA * CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) Continuing Education (CE)
CompTIA * Network+ Continuing Education (CE)
EC-Council * Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)
International Information Systems Security Certifications Consortium (ISC)2 * Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) (or Associate – this means the individual has qualified for the certification except for the number of years experience)
(ISC)2 * Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional
(ISC)2 * Certification Authorization Professional (CAP)
(ISC)2 * Information Systems Security Architecture Professional (ISSAP)
(ISC)2 * Information Systems Security Engineering Professional (ISSEP)
(ISC)2 * Information Systems Security Management Professional (ISSMP)
(ISC)2 * System Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)
Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) * Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
ISACA * Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) * GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst (GCIA)
GIAC * GIAC Certified Enterprise Defender (GCED)
GIAC * GIAC Certified Forensic Analyst (GCFA)
GIAC * GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)
GIAC * GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)
GIAC * GIAC Security Leadership Certificate (GSLC)
GIAC * GIAC Systems and Network Auditor (GSNA)

The GIAC GSE and GISF were removed from the approved list on 25 January 2013. Individuals holding one of these certifications to qualify for their current IA position will remain qualified. However, a different certification may be required once the GIAC GSE or GISF expires or if the individual changes positions requiring a different certification.

GSA Schedule: 47QTCA19D008F